Curated by Charles Owen and Katya Apekisheva

  • About the Festival

    London Piano Festival is delighted to return to Kings Place for a wide-ranging weekend of exciting repertoire performed by an exceptional line up of pianists.


    The Festival opens with a solo recital by renowned Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero, whose programme is inspired by exile and will include an improvisation of a live film score to Charlie Chaplin’s 1917 short film The Immigrant. Katya Apekisheva will present an all-Schubert programme focused on his hauntingly beautiful late works including the iconic B flat major Sonata D960 as the centrepiece. The Two Piano Gala will feature long-standing LPF friends Kathryn Stott & Finghin Collins. They will join Gabriela Montero, Charles Owen & Katya Apekisheva to take listeners on a fascinating journey of pianistic collaboration spanning three centuries, including the UK premiere of ‘Sonnets’ a new co-commission by Sally Beamish inspired by a Shakespearean love-triangle. Esteemed mathematician Marcus Du Sautoy explores the links between symmetry and music through the astonishing musical edifice of JS Bach’s Goldberg Variations. A complete performance of this iconic work will be given by Charles Owen.


    The anticipation of live music-making, complete with the magical resonance of grand pianos, fuelled by buzzing audiences, is one to lift the spirits. We look forward to welcoming the artists and to reconnecting with LPF friends again in the vibrant, contemporary setting of Kings Place.

    Katya Apekisheva and Charles Owen, Co-Artistic Directors of the London Piano Festival

    "The festival came off with brio, brilliance and the brightest of spirits.​"

    The Sunday Times, October 2018

  • Partners & Patrons

    Imogen Cooper CBE

    Stephen Hough CBE

    Sir Jeremy Dixon